Go To SPOXTalk.comHome

     Total Page Views
We received
page views since Nov 2004



Security Code: Security Code
Type Security Code

     Shop Amazon

     Stories By Topic
Vermont News

A Judge Lynching
All My Aliens
Art News
Health News
Paranormal News
Political News
Sci-fi News
Science News
Spiritual News
The News
Travel News
Unusual News
Vermont News

· Home
· 007
· Ask_Shabby
· Content
· Dates
· Downloads
· Feedback
· Fine_Print
· Forums
· Fun_Stuff
· Game_World
· Home_Grown
· Journal
· Link_To
· Private Messages
· Recommend Us
· Reviews
· Search
· Site_Credits
· SPOX_Talk
· Stone_Tarot
· Stores_Shop
· Stories Archive
· Submit News
· Surveys
· Tell_Us
· Top 10
· Top Stories
· Topics
· Weather_Station
· Web Links
· Your Account

     Who's Online
There are currently, 92 guest(s) and 0 member(s) that are online.

     Monthly Quote
“If a man has an apartment stacked to the ceiling with newspapers we call him crazy. If a woman has a trailer house full of cats we call her nuts. But when people pathologically hoard so much cash that they impoverish the entire nation, we put them on the cover of Fortune magazine and pretend that they are role models.”
-– B. Lester

     Link to us!
AlienLove Logos

Add Your Link To Us!

     Anti-War Webs
Anti-War Web Ring
[<<<] [ list ] [???] [ join ] [>>>]

 The Seven Deadly Sins

Spiritualityby Blue1moon

Most of us are familiar with this list: Pride, Envy, Gluttony, Lust, Anger, Greed, and Sloth. But did you know there were specific punishments for each of these sins? Or that Gandhi had his own list of seven deadly sins?

Shop Amazon with AlienLove
Help Support AlienLove - Shop Amazon

History points to Evagrius of Pontus, a Greek monastic theologian, as having drawn up the original list. It included eight offences: gluttony, lust, avarice, sadness, anger, acedia (apathy/ sloth), vainglory and pride. Some time during the late 6th century, Pope Gregory the Great, changed and reduced the list. The final change came in the seventeenth century, when the Church replaced the sin of sadness with sloth.

Each of the seven deadly sins are connected with specific punishments that will be faced in Hell, according to "The Picture Book of Devils, Demons and Witchcraft," by Ernst and Joanna Lehner. These were: Pride – broken on the wheel; Envy – put in freezing water; Anger – dismemberment while alive; Sloth – thrown into a snake pit; Greed – dunked in cauldrons of boiling oil; and Gluttony – forced to eat rats, toads and snakes! Beware my friends!

In more modern times, Gandhi had his own list of Deadly Sins. These were: 1) Wealth without work; 2) Pleasure without conscience; 3) Science without humanity; 4) Knowledge without character; 5)Politics without principle; 6)Commerce without morality; and 7) Worship without sacrifice.

It might easily be argued that our leaders and politicians seem to need a refresher course on Gandhi’s list!

Discuss this article in our forums.

Listen To SPOXTalk.

     Related Links
· More about Spirituality
· News by Blue1Moon

Most read story about Spirituality:
Sex and the Liberal Christian

     Article Rating
Average Score: 5
Votes: 1

Please take a second and vote for this article:

Very Good


 Printer Friendly Printer Friendly

Associated Topics

OpinionPoliticsThe News

"The Seven Deadly Sins" | Login/Create an Account | 0 comments
The comments are owned by the poster. We aren't responsible for their content.

No Comments Allowed for Anonymous, please register

Site Copyright AlienLove 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008
AlienLove is part of Scifillian Inc.
and SpoxTalk.com

PHP-Nuke Copyright © 2005 by Francisco Burzi. This is free software, and you may redistribute it under the GPL. PHP-Nuke comes with absolutely no warranty, for details, see the license.
Page Generation: 0.05 Seconds